19.6.13 / things women should fulfil in life [gimme-a-yike-bike]

after my cisco event work at fullerton, i went down to haji lane to find someone to talk to. and then surprisingly/coincidentally, malvin and reagan came too! check out this new toy we were playing with outside our shop.

dope eh?! this is a Yike Bike.

(fyi) a yike bike is the world’s smallest lightest foldable electric bike. the shape of it looks funny and cool. and the way you ride it…. exceptionally cool! i definitely want to own one when i have more money. haha. it cost like at least $5000 SGD. no joke. if i got that sum of money, i’ll be happy.

cool eh? yeah real cool. i don’t mind using this as a mean of transportation. (dreams, if only i’m rich)

oh and a big group of us from dhsunglass decided to go for an impromptu dinner in which, eric our lovely boss, treated us to dinner. haha. it was a really long time since i met all of them – because i was at phuket, i didn’t get to work and also missed the official opening of hook&union (boohoo!) … so it’s rly nice to see most of them yesterday. catching up, and making jokes. too bad i couldn’t stay out late because i’ve got work early morning. this whole week is an early morning for me, what a struggle since i haven’t had proper sleep for more than 3 weeks since the very-hungover-drunk-phuket-days. so so tired, i must be crazy to book for work the day after i come back from phuket – but who knew i would be partying so hard and get drunk every night?

when i was back in the shop, i fell in love with this new pair of Ksubi. love it!

and ever since i came back, my stomach has been worst than it was in phuket. it is so bloated, cramped and painful everyday…. especially when i eat. or maybe even when i don’t eat, it hurts! i’m hoping it’s nothing serious but just too much alcohol thats all. i go to the toilet more often and at night, sometimes i find it hard to sleep because my stomach is too bloated ): ): ): ): this is a very tough punishment for me. BUTT. i did not regret any of my 10 days in phuket. ha ha ha. *cheeky grin*

oh while working at fullerton, i had to go out and get my own lunch. i wanted to get aussie roll, but the lunch crowd there was @#$%^&*@#@!^*cccraazzzyyy(!!!!!) ugh. so i saw yong tau fu, and that is my favourite. so i decided to queue for it, despite the long gross line. haha.

AND from then onward, i’ve been having the same one from the same store consecutive every lunch. it’s ampang yong tau fu, but it taste so different from the normal ones. i love it! the sauce is starchy and the way they fry the items i picked, yum yum yum. you have to give it a try if you’re at raffles area, but avoid lunch time. it’s rly worth the try!

so, i just finished my ampang yong tau fu and i’m facing danger – food coma. so so sleepy. so so tired. why do i always feel tired in the day, but i’m so bloody awake at night?!!?!?! this is crazy. i have resorted to turning on this app on my ipad, that plays sleeping music (the seaside sound, birds chirping and the typical massage music). that is being played every single night, when i sleep. i set it for 15 minutes at first, but these few days since i came home, i change it to stop after 1 hour. sigh. i still have band music playing in my head and sometimes, thai music. my mind is so messed up. i just need some rest and not be a workaholic.

that’s my boring life for you.

x

oh and just another thought.

was reading thought catalog and i came across a list of things every women should accomplish in her 20s. i can’t agree with some, but i found a few which i can relate to.

Living in her own apartment.

Roommates are wonderful. Living with a partner can be great. But until you have sustained yourself, kept up only after yourself, and had the pleasure of finding out who you really are when you are totally on your own, it’s difficult that you say you really know who you are. And it’s a time you may never have again in your life, depending on the choices you make. Even if it’s just a crappy little studio, it should be your own.

Going on a trip alone.

People (maybe even well-meaning people) are going to tell you that it’s dangerous. They’re going to say that you’re not being responsible, that you never know what can happen to a nice girl like you, and that you should at least go with a few friends. But all of the things you learn about yourself — especially the fact that you are able to hold your own in a foreign place, and be perfectly content with your own company — are irreplaceable. And young women deserve that just as much as anyone else does. Who knows, you might meet some sexy local and have a perfect little vacation fling that isn’t encumbered by all of your travel buddies whose schedules you have to think of. And you’ll never know until you go.

Having at least one night where she goes way too crazy. (DID IT FOR 10 NIGHTS, CHECKED!)

If you don’t have at least one memory to look back on that makes you laugh and wince in equal measure, something where you proved yourself that you could be the crazy friend and still escape unscathed, you never know when that pang of regret for not trying is going to creep up on you.

Moving to a new city where she knows almost no one.

Yes, it’s terrifying. Yes, you will be in for a lot of dinners alone and awkward first friend-dates with people you meet at work or through friends of friends or online. Yes, it will mean creating a whole new network out of thin air and waiting months or years until you really feel like you’re at home again. But you deserve all of the adventure that it comes with, and no one is going to give it to you. It’s something you have to go out and find for yourself.

i’m in my 20s. i just feel i’ve been missing out on many things in life… just sometimes. will i get to do all this? maybe someday, or maybe not.

xx

4 comments

  1. I agree and even though I am not a woman, those things are already checked on my list. I finished the last item at the age of 28. I am actually happy that you are on the same page of thoughts with me (at least from your recent blog posts). I highly encourage you to give them a try before you are tied down with responsibilities at the later stage of life. Many of my friends often dismiss these points as impractical and risky. Living by yourself “No want lar…. waste money on rent blah blah blah.” The saddest thing in life for me is to be old with regrets of stories of adventures that I missed.

  2. I agree and even though I am not a woman, those things are already checked on my list. I finished the last item at the age of 28. I am actually happy that you are on the same page of thoughts with me (at least from your recent blog posts). I highly encourage you to give them a try before you are tied down with responsibilities at the later stage of life. Many of my friends often dismiss these points as impractical and risky. Living by yourself “No want lar…. waste money on rent blah blah blah.” The saddest thing in life for me is to be old with regrets of stories of adventures that I missed.

    1. YES. I am on the same page of thoughts… I don’t think living by myself is a waste of money. It’s HOLYSHIT FUN! Well, i get to do anything, wear anything or (walk naked hahaha!) and I get my own space. Well, if i feel lonely, friends are always welcome. yay? Yeap. That was what I told someone recently – I don’t want to live and tell the younger people next time about my life full of regrets “I wished I did this… I always wanted to do this….” damnit I am only 23! DO IT!

      1. 23?! Good for you. I am already 30 but looking back so far, I do not have any complaints. I am glad that I did make up my mind to do it though. Party~~~

Leave a Reply

